Licorice Spice Tea

Stash licorice spice herbal tea

This is my favorite herbal tea. I don’t get it often in Laos, so I was so happy when my friend Tiffany shared some bulk licorice root with me.  I looked on the back of this tea bag for the ingredients and used some of the same ingredients to create the following tea recipe. It tastes very close to the Stash version. The great thing about licorice root is that it adds a sweet taste without adding sugar.

Ingredients:

  • 1 T dried licorice root
  • 1 star anise
  • 3 cardamom pods
  • 5 cloves
  • 2 inches of cinnamon stick

Add 4 cups of water and simmer for at least 20 minutes. Drink some, add more water, and continue simmering for the whole evening. It will make your house smell great.

2 responses to “Licorice Spice Tea

  1. hey what a surprise about the Stash Tea – I first came across this 10yrs ago when I went to stay at a Canadian-run B&B (staying in owner’s home rather than go to a motel) in Yorkshire for Christmas. I couldn’t believe how adventurous herbal blends were. In the UK still, the variety is still not v good. Thanks for the recipe, I shall have to try it soon. Do you know any other alt. for Stash Tea? thanks

  2. I came to your site re. the Mexican Almond Drink . I’ve a Soya Milk Maker so I’ll give your recipe a go soon…

Leave a Reply

