English Muffins

Making English muffins reminded me of one reason I love baking so much – it seems magical. Isn’t it amazing how the many things can be made with flour, yeast, water, milk, salt, sugar, and butter? I have been wanting to, but putting off trying to bake English muffins for at least 6 months. For some reason I thought it would be difficult. It wasn’t really. It’s a lot like making a loaf of bread, but the main difference is that English muffins are cooked on the stove. Actually, this recipe is very similar to an Indian naan recipe I use.

You can find the recipe at the Frugal Girl Blog. By the way, I really enjoy this blog. Kristen writes about frugality, contentment, family, baking, and faith. Her approach to frugality is sensible and joyful at the same time.

the cornmeal side

The cornmeal is a very important part of this recipe because it allows the English muffins not to stick and gives them that distinctive “English muffin” look. I used a cast-iron pan for even heating and found that I needed to keep the pan over low heat instead of medium-high so that the English muffins didn’t get too dark. Also, the Frugal Girl says the muffins need 10 minutes on each side, but I needed less than that on the second side.

Leave a Reply

