Apple Pie With Fresh Ginger

I made this apple pie for Thanksgiving, but it would be good for Christmas too. I just took a standard apple pie recipe and substituted fresh ginger for the dry ground ginger. When you substitute fresh ginger for dry, you need to use more because fresh ginger isn’t as concentrated. This recipe at Allrecipes.com calls for 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger, but I used 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger. Actually, I think I should have only used 1/2 a tablespoon.

I’ve heard that microplanes are the favored way of grating ginger, but I don’t have one, so I use a different method. I slice peeled ginger across the fibers into thin slices. Then I mash up those slices in a mortar and pestle. It’s a great way to get ginger without stringiness. I do think that this mashed ginger is more dense than grated ginger and that’s probably why my pie was too gingery. So, if you mash your ginger like me, only use a 1/2 tablespoon for this pie, but if you grate your ginger, you could probably use a little more.

Here’s a post from Simply Recipes on how to make a lattice pie crust. It includes good photos and instructions.

Leave a Reply

