Apple Butter

I made an apple pie for Thanksgiving and had some leftover apples, so I made apple butter. It’s so yummy on toast or pancakes. I based my recipe on this one from the National Center for Home Food Preservation. The main differences are the size of the batch, the way the puree is made, and also I didn’t can my apple butter. You definitely could though. Since I made such a small batch, it wasn’t worth it to me. If you do want to can your apple butter, just follow the instructions on the webpage I linked to above. I didn’t have apple cider or apple cider vinegar, but I imagine using them could only make your apple butter more full of apple flavor!

Apple butter should be thick like this when it's finished cooking.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds apples (equal to about 1 kg or 7 medium apples)
  • 1/2 C water (or apple cider)
  • 1/2 C vinegar (or apple cider vinegar)
  • 1/2 C white sugar
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 3/4 t ground cloves

Directions:

  1. Peel and core the apples. Chop apples into large chunks.
  2. Combine apples, water (or apple cider) and vinegar in a pan. Simmer until the apples are soft – about 30 minutes.
  3. Puree the apples with the liquid using a hand-held soup blender. You could also use a food processor or blender.
  4. Add the sugar and spices.
  5. Cook over very very low heat for about 1 1/2 hours. You will probably have to stir continually at the end of that time.
  6. The National Center for Home Food Preservation gives this method to know when the apple butter is done:

To test for doneness, remove a spoonful and hold it away from steam for 2 minutes. It is done if the butter remains mounded on the spoon. Another way to determine when the butter is cooked adequately is to spoon a small quantity onto a plate. When a rim of liquid does not separate around the edge of the butter, it is ready for canning.

makes about 3 cups

3 responses to “Apple Butter

  1. I love apple butter with some fresh toast. This recipe sounds really simple. I will try this soon 🙂

  2. Your apple butter looks wonderful! I have a recipe you make in a crockpot cooking the apples and spices for hours until the desired thickness. The house smells wonderful as it’s cooking!

    • That sounds delicious! I don’t have a crock-pot here, but I remember my mom making cinnamon applesauce that way. It made the whole house smell good.

Leave a Reply

