Rye Bread

I know that those of you living in Laos probably don’t have rye flour or caraway seeds, but I just have to share this recipe because I love rye bread. If you want to buy rye flour, you can get it in Udon at the Schmidt bakery supply store. I can’t remember where I got my caraway seed.

Mix together:

  • 4 C flour
  • 1/4 C brown sugar (or turbinado sugar)
  • 4 t salt
  • 2 T caraway seeds
  • 2 T yeast

Add and stir in:

  • 1/4 C oil
  • 20 ounces warm water (100 degrees F)

Stir in and then knead dough:

  • 3 C rye flour
  • 1 1/4 C flour

Let the dough rest for about an hour, or until the volume has doubled.  Shape into 2 or 3 loaves and let rise again for at least 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preset the oven to 375 F (if you have that kind of oven). Bake for about 45 minutes or until the top is slightly darker and hardened. If you flip the loaf over and knock on the bottom of it, it should sound hollow. Let cool before slicing. I know it’s hard to let it cool, but bread really is easier to slice when it’s cool. If you don’t care about how the slices look, dig in right away!

Other bread recipes you might like:

One response to “Rye Bread

  1. I have never made rye bread before. It sounds really amazing and it looks stunning! I can’t wait to try this recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

