Linguine Carbonara and Watermelon Juice

I’m pleased to announce that this is my first guest post! My brother, Scott, is a great cook. He makes his own chicken broth, pita bread, and braided challah bread. Scott is probably a braver cook than me in some ways because I have never dealt with a whole chicken by myself. We had originally thought Scott might post his challah recipe, but it comes from a cookbook, which brings up copyright issues, so he chose to share this meal instead! I hope this will be the first of many guest posts from Scott.  Parmesan is not easily available in Laos, but you can get it in Vientiane. You could use the New Zeeland cheddar if you have to, but it won’t be as good. Usually carbonara includes ham or bacon, so add that too if you wish.

Carbonara is mac and cheese’s classy older cousin.  It’s a creamy and savory pasta dish with a pepper bite and yet will take perhaps only three or four more minutes than the blue box.  I’m not sure about the availability of parmesan in Laos, but the other 5 ingredients or substitutes should be available.

Watermelon juice compliments this dish well, it’s sweet, thirst quenching and puts out the black pepper sniffles.  I hear this drink comes from Mexico, but it could be from anywhere.

All you need for this meal is:

Linguine Carbonara

Serves 1 hungry Scott (maybe with a side 2 less hungry Scotts)

Ingredients:

  • salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/2 box linguine (I prefer linguine because it remain firmer than spaghetti or angel hair) – 8 ounces or 250 grams
  • 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • black pepper (I’d guess between ¼ and a ½ t but I usually just aim for enough pepper to make me sniffle when I eat the dish)
  • parsley if you got it, I didn’t when I made this

Begin by salting water for the pasta then putting it on for a boil. I like to put the eggs in the water just before it boils then take them out again, because I think it keeps the whites from being gloopy in the final dish. Leave the eggs in for about a minute, not long enough to cook them. While the water is reaching a boil on the side saute the garlic in olive oil for just a minute.

Cook pasta until al dente. Drain the pasta. Right away crack the eggs in and add parmesan, black pepper, parsley and garlic to the pasta. Stir and serve.

Watermelon Juice

Simply puree the flesh of a watermelon then pour through a metal strainer.  This fluff left in the strainer is delicious – I scarf it down immediately.

I hope you enjoy this simple combo when your short on time but want something delicious.

2 responses to “Linguine Carbonara and Watermelon Juice

  1. Great recipe, Scott. Watermelon juice is big in China too. Sarah, next time I see you I’ll show you the way your grandmother taught me to cut up a chicken.

    Bob Page
    Chapel Hill

Leave a Reply

