Mulberry Syrup

Silk is made by silkworms (caterpillars actually) and silkworms will only eat mulberry leaves. This means that the silk farm nearby has to grow mulberry plants and they sell mulberries – a happy bi-product of silk! I had lots of mulberries in my freezer from last mulberry season (February and March), but I need to defrost my freezer, so I decided to do something with those mulberries. This syrup doesn’t need refrigeration if it’s canned properly.

Mulberries have less juice than some other berries, so I needed a lot of berries to get enough juice. Therefore, I don’t recommend using this recipe with other kinds of berries, but this recipe from the National Center for Home Food Preservation should work. I based my mulberry syrup recipe on it, but increased the amount of berries.

  • 20 C (2 kilos) mulberries, frozen or fresh
  • 6 1/2 C sugar
  1. If the mulberries are frozen, melt over low heat
  2. Use a hand blender to pulverize the berries and release more juice
  3. Cook for 5 minutes over low heat
  4. Strain the berries through a fine sieve, pressing down on them with a spoon. If you need more juice, put some berry pulp into a thin cloth and squeeze the juice out. I used a handkerchief for this (now purple by the way). There should be 4 to 4 1/2 cups of juice.
  5. Return the juice to a clean pan. Add  the sugar, bring to a boil and simmer for 1 minute.
  6. Can in 4 half-pint jars and process by boiling in water according to the directions here.
2 responses to “Mulberry Syrup

  1. That sounds great! My neighbor has a big Mulberry tree, but I do mean big. None of the branches are within ladder-reaching height, so the birds eat the berries every year. I sometimes stand in my back yard wishing I could use them.

  2. Those silk worms are my nightmare… they make me don’t wanna visit my grandma who make silk. ..but this recipe sounds so delicious!

Leave a Reply

