Salmon Salad

Salmon Salad was one of my favorite meals growing up, along with crab soufflé, shrimp salad, and seafood gumbo. I guess I really had a thing for seafood! This is a recipe I got from my mom and I’m not sure where she got it. It seems very 1950’s to me with its canned meat, tons of mayonnaise, and dainty presentation. Although my photo shows the salmon salad arranged on lettuce, it’s also very good on crackers or a sandwich.

I apologize to anyone who is reading my blog in search of healthy food made from ingredients that are easily found in Southeast Asia. This is certainly not that kind of recipe! I did find the canned salmon in Vientiane, but it wasn’t cheap and there are 4 ingredients that I simply couldn’t find. Salmon salad is a special treat for me, not the sort of thing we eat everyday.

Mix together and refrigerate for at least 5 hours:

  • 1 can salmon (212 grams/7.5 ounces)
  • 1/3 C cooked rice
  • 2 T ketchup
  • 1/2 C mayonnaise
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 t ground pepper
  • 1/4 onion, minced
  • 1 hard-boiled egg, chopped

I didn’t have these ingredients, but add them if you do:

  • 1/4 t celery salt
  • 1/2 t horseradish
  • 1/4 C celery, chopped
  • French dressing (instead of the ketchup)

Each serving should be plated individually. Arrange a bed of lettuce with the salmon salad on top.

3 responses to “Salmon Salad

  1. I haven’t notice canned salmon in our stores, too. You think it will be ok trying this with fresh salmon that has been baked or microwave!

  2. Sarah,
    I’ve tried salmon salad this afternoon with fresh salmon. I baked salmon with some garlic and salt and then procede to your recipe. It was so delicious and has become a big hit. We ‘re definitely gonna make this again 🙂

Leave a Reply

