Plum Jam From Our Own Trees!

Last week our plum trees were full of ripe plums. I went out to pick them and brought in a bowl containing two and a half kilos of plums! About 30 minutes later, there was a soft knock at the door. It was some little neighbor boys asking if they could pick some plums too. So cute! They’ve been coming back almost everyday to pick more plums, but I’m pretty sure they’ve picked all of them by this point.

After I picked the 2 1/2 kilos of plums, James and I spent the evening peeling them and making plum jam. We ended up with 11 cups of jam! That should last us a while. By the way, our plums are red and tart, so I don’t know how this would taste with purple plums, I’m sure it would be delicious.

You can find out how to make and can plum jam at the National Center for Home Food Preservation.

My suggestions when using this recipe:

  • Don’t add the water that it says to add at the beginning. I did, but I wish my jam was a little thicker.
  • Blend the cooked plums with a hand blender.

How to know when jam is done cooking – a very useful link – I didn’t know about the temperature at which jellying happens

My other recipe for plum jam is not as good as this one because it is more work (straining the pits out) and because that jam has to be kept in the refrigerator.

Plum Torte – post about a cake with plums on top

2 responses to “Plum Jam From Our Own Trees!

  1. I am going to admit that I am really jealous of the fruit trees. What do you think we could grow in a space that gets about 8 hours of morning/early afternoon sunlight and in our zone?

Leave a Reply

