In Search of Grandma’s Dinner Rolls

IMG_3584

My grandma is well-known for her rolls. Everyone looked forward to eating them at family gatherings. I don’t actually have a recipe for her rolls because she doesn’t use a recipe. She just knows how to make them because she’s done it so many times.

One of her sons once videotaped her making rolls and cinnamon rolls so that we could learn how she does it. When I last watched that video, I had never made bread before, so I didn’t know what to observe. I’d like to watch it again and see if I can learn more. Until then, I’ll just try re-inventing the recipe on my own.

If any family members are reading this and have some suggestions, please let me know! Do you remember Grandma using an egg? I don’t, but I could have missed it.

This recipe is based on one I found for Homemade Pan Rolls on Allrecipes.com, but I have altered it some. Mostly I simplified the directions so that they’re easier to follow. Here’s my version:

  • 2 C flour
  • 1/4 sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 T yeast
  • 1/4 C butter (softened)
  • 1/2 C cold milk
  • 1/2 C boiled water
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 1 3/4 C flour
  1. Mix 2 C flour, sugar, salt, and yeast
  2. Mix boiled water with cold milk. Should be 100 – 110 degrees farenheit. If it isn’t, wait til it is.
  3. Stir butter, egg, milk and water mixture into the dry ingredients. Stir until thoroughly combined
  4. Add the rest of the flour and knead until the dough has a uniform texture (no clumps of dry flour on the outside of the dough).
  5. Set dough in a greased bowl and cover with a cloth. Let rise until doubled (40-60 minutes).
  6. Cut dough into 16 pieces.
  7. Place rolls in a 9 by 13 inch pan and let rise for another 40 minutes.
  8. Bake in a 400F oven for about 15 minutes, until golden brown.
2 responses to “In Search of Grandma’s Dinner Rolls

  1. Sarah,
    yes, sometimes Mom whisked up an egg and put it in the rolls, but not always. It made them yellower. your dad should have a VHS tape of her making rolls somewhere.
    Your uncle Bob

  2. Thanks Uncle Bob. I’m sure he does have that tape. Maybe I’ll watch it next time I’m back for a visit.

Leave a Reply

