Sweet Potato Pie For My Birthday

IMG_3550

This is the first pie I’ve ever made. Okay, I’ve made pie crust before for fruit tarts and I’ve made pie shaped things like quiche, but I’ve never actually made a pie. If you know how much I love pie, it’s even more suprising. I love pie so much that at my wedding, I didn’t want a wedding cake, I wanted many kinds of pie (and got what I wanted)!

Sweet potato pie is sort of like pumpkin pie in that it’s an orange pie made from a vegetable and it includes spices like cinnamon and nutmeg.

I made this pie with sweet potatoes that we bought in Vientiane. We can’t usually get them up here yet. The variety of sweet potatoes that we can get in Laos isn’t as rich and moist as the kind in the US, but it still made a great pie.

You can find the recipe here. I made 3 changes to the recipe:

  1. I roasted the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them because I love the sweet flavor that roasting adds.
  2. I don’t know what percentage of milk I used because the box doesn’t say. I’m pretty sure it’s not whole milk (maybe 2.5%) but it worked fine.
  3. I used turbinado sugar instead of white sugar, but I don’t think it matters much.
One response to “Sweet Potato Pie For My Birthday

  1. Nice lighting and photography, Sarah.
    your uncle Bob

Leave a Reply

