Spicy Pickled Okra

IMG_3523

I love the blog Homesick Texan because I am also a homesick Texan. Maybe I’m not as homesick as the author of the blog though because the last time I lived in Texas was when I was 8 years old. Still, I love a lot of Texas foods, so I enjoy reading that blog.

My grandmother used to grow okra in her garden in Kansas and I can remember helping her pick them. The plants were so tall! Now they’re still tall in my own garden, but not as tall as I remember them. They’re supposed to reach  6 feet!

Pickled okra is one of those Texas foods that I have missed. It sounds strange, but it’s really good (to me). I’ve based this recipe on the one at Homesick Texan, but I have changed a few things. I use white vinegar instead of apple cider vinegar, adjusted the volume of okra, and slightly altered the spices.

  • 20 okra (3-4 inches long) or 300 grams, stems trimmed short
  • 2 C white vinegar
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed with the flat part of the knife
  • 6 Thai chilis (or other spicy peppers)
  • 1 t cayenne powder
  • 1 t whole cumin seeds
  • 2 t whole coriander seeds
  • 3 t salt
  1. Wash the okra and peppers. Arrange them with the garlic in jars.
  2. Combine the vinegar, spices, and salt in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil.
  3. While still boiling hot, pour the vinegar and spices over the okra.
  4. Cap the jars, let cool for half and hour, and then refrigerate.
  5. The okra pickles will be ready the next day and will keep for a few months refrigerated.

Here’s another recipe for pickled okra. This one tells you how to properly can the okra so that it doesn’t need to be refrigerated.

2 responses to “Spicy Pickled Okra

  1. mmm, i like pickled okra. you’re so impressive, making it yourself!

  2. Wow, I’ve never heard of pickled okra before! But then, since I grew up in the Pacific Northwest, we didn’t have a lot of okra around at all. (In fact, I think I’ve only had it once or twice in my life!)

    How did they turn out? I am also working on somewhat unusual pickled vegetables today. 🙂 At the moment I’m processing my first batch of pickled green tomatoes! I hope they turn out as well as your okra!

Leave a Reply

