Cilantro Sauce

IMG_3519

I was listening to the Splendid Table podcast (the October 10, 2009 episode) last week. There was a guest, Martha Rose Shulman, talking about cilantro sauces. I was interested because we had so much cilantro in our garden and we’re going away for 2 weeks, so I needed ideas for using it quickly! Martha  described a Moroccan sauce called “chermoula” and listed off some ingredients. Sadly, she didn’t give any amounts and I couldn’t find a similar recipe online. Actually I couldn’t figure out how to spell “chermoula” until recently, so it was hard to search for. Instead of using a recipe, I invented! I was skeptical about adding cinnamon to the rest of these flavors, but it does taste good.

I know that in the US cilantro is measured in bunches, but I don’t really know how big a bunch is. Therefore I’m not sure how many bunches you should use! Just keep putting in cilantro until you like the texture.

On the podcast, this sauce was recommended for fish. You could use it with other meats too or on a sandwich. Today I mixed it with some thick plain yogurt and used it as a veggie dip.

  • 8 cloves garlic
  • 3 Thai chili peppers
  • 3 or 4 bunches of cilantro (300 grams to be precise)
  • 1 C lime juice
  • 1/2 C olive oil
  • 1 T salt
  • 2 T ground cumin
  • 2 t cinnamon
  1. Blend garlic and chili first so that they are in very small pieces.
  2. Add everything else and blend until smooth.
2 responses to “Cilantro Sauce

  1. Sorry to bother you, but in your Cilantro Sauce recipe:

    • What does C in 1C lime juice mean?

    • What does 2T in 2T Ground Cumin mean?

    • What does 2t in 2t Cinnamon mean?

    thanks and regards,

    a

Leave a Reply

