Pesto

IMG_3461

It’s so great to finally have Italian basil growing in the backyard. I like the Thai basil that is available at the market, but sometimes you just need Italian basil. Thanks to Meghan for sending the seeds! I know this is not the most authentic pesto, but you can’t expect to find lots of authentic Italian ingredients in Southeast Asia! I’m happy to have olive oil. Pinenuts or walnuts are a great addition to pesto, so use them if you have them.

  • 3 C fresh basil leaves (lightly packed)
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • 1/3 C olive oil
  • 1 t salt
  • 2/3 C cheddar (gasp! Parmasan is better of course, but I don’t have any.)
  1. Chop the garlic cloves in a food processor. I do this step first because if I add the garlic later, it doesn’t get chopped small enough.
  2. Add basil and olive oil, blend until smooth.
  3. Add salt and cheese. Blend some more.

makes 1 C pesto

5 responses to “Pesto

  1. It’s too bad I went to the gardening store after they sold out of everything but that bunched up basil! I wish I could have sent some sprouts we got of the real bushy italian stuff.

  2. Yeah, the kind I had way too much of. I usually grow 3-4 types. I grew thai basil this year, just because I knew you guys had something similar but I didn’t use it much.

  3. way to grow basil! i always kill mine. I often make it without garlic or cheese, and throw in any kind of nut/seed I have on hand. Softish tofu also works well as a cheese substitute to make the pesto soft and spreadable. I’m guessing tofu’s easy to find there?

    • Yum, yeah I think mine could use some nut taste. Tofu is definately available. The Chinese restaurant here makes a great spicy tofu with peanut stir-fry, but I hardly ever cook with it myself.

Leave a Reply

