Apple Cheddar Scones

Our British friends invited us to “high tea” and asked us to bring something appropriate for a tea, so I made these.  I tried a recipe I found here, but the texture of the dough wasn’t right.  I altered the recipe and made another batch before the tea.  I love how apple and chedder taste together.  I’ll definitely make these scones again.

2 1/2 C flour

2 T sugar

1 1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/4 t baking soda

5 T butter, diced

3/4 C buttermilk

1 C shredded cheddar cheese

1 C apples, peeled and diced (I used Gala, but I think Granny Smith would be even better)

  1. Mix the dry ingredients together.
  2. Cut in the butter until the dough forms crumbs.  I often do this with my hands, but using a pastry cutter is the proper way 🙂
  3. Stir in the buttermilk.
  4. Fold in cheese and apples.  Kneed a few times.
  5. Pat into a 9 inch circle on a greased pan.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes in a 400 F oven (my oven is weird, check the time and temp yourself please).
  7. Done when the scones are lightly browned on the top.
  8. Slice into 8 wedges for large scones.

makes 8 scones

Leave a Reply

