Guacamole

Our province is a great place to grow avocados, but they haven’t really caught on here yet.  I think that’s because people haven’t figured our how to eat them.  They’re not sweet . . . they’re not sour . . . so what do you do with them?  Some people have tried making smoothies with them, which sounds gross to me, but maybe I should try it.  I love avocados, so I’m a little sad that they’re hard to find here, but we found some a couple weeks ago in Vientiane!  They were a lot bigger than I’m used to, but James says it’s the same variety that they grow in the Dominican Republic.  We ate one of them on the side of a black beans and rice dish, and I used the other one to make guacamole.  I asked my Lao tutor to try it and she thought it was good.  It uses a lot of the same ingredients as Lao cheos (sauces).  The Thai pepper is small but very spicy.  A jalapeno is bigger, but probably a good equivalent in spiciness.

1 large avocado (or 2 smaller ones)

1 cilantro bunch, chopped

1 1/2 T lime juice

1 t salt

1 thai pepper, minced (or any other spicy pepper)

  1. mash the avocado with a fork, but leave some chunks
  2. stir in the rest of the ingredients
2 responses to “Guacamole

  1. Now you have to try avocado soup!

  2. I’d love to, but we already ate our 2 avocados from Vientiane! We do know a lady who has a couple avocado trees at her house and she thinks they’ll be ready in August, so I have to remember to ask her then.

Leave a Reply

