Pad Thai

I’ve tried making similar Thai noodle dishes a few times, and this is definitely the best.  The shape of the noodles is not very important, thin or thick ones are fine, just make sure they’re made of rice or bean starch.  The spiciness can also be adjusted by adding more curry paste or peppers.  I made this recipe rather mild so that most Americans can eat it!  Thai food can be really spicy.  In Laos, we have Thai ramen noodles and I can’t eat them if I add more than half of the flavor packet.  I had the same problem when I got Thai curry soups in Thailand, but that problem can be solved by mixing it with a lot of rice.  It’s important to add the lime juice at the end because if you add it too early, some of the flavor will cook off.

150 grams bean thread/cellophane noodles or rice vermicelli

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 Thai chile pepper (small, red, very spicy), finely chopped

2 T oil

4 oz. chicken breast (optional), cubed

1-2 T Thai red curry paste, such as Thai Kitchen brand (this is not cheating, because Thai people use premade curry pastes too 🙂

1/2 C peanut butter

1 1/4 C broth

1 T sugar

1 T fish sauce

2 T lime juice

2 C thai basil, chopped (Thai basil smells minty and has purple stems.  If you can’t get this, try using half mint and half basil)

1/2 C bean sprouts (I didn’t use these this time, but they’re a good addition)

  1. Soak the noodles in warm water while you are preparing everything else.
  2. Saute the garlic and chile in oil until garlic is softened.  Use a wok if possible.
  3. Add the chicken and stir fry until done.
  4. Make the sauce – add the next 5 ingredients to the chicken.  Wisk until there are no peanut butter or curry paste chunks.  Continue cooking over low heat until the sauce has thickened.
  5. Drain the noodles and add them to the sauce in the wok.  Stir fry about 5 minutes.
  6. Turn off the heat and add Thai basil, lime juice, and bean sprouts before serving.

serves 4

2 responses to “Pad Thai

  1. mmmm, I want to make some pad thai now with actual flavor! Mine has cilantro in it and I love that flavor, but since mine bolted I guess I can try this with mint and basil. I had Thai basil last year but didn’t use it much so I didn’t plant it again this year.

  2. I also realized that I start every comment with “mmmmm”.

Leave a comment