Tomato Pasta Sauce (the better one)

After talking with my friend Meghan, who loves tomatoes, I’ve changed how I make pasta sauce. Pureeing the tomatoes before cooking them wasn’t a great idea because it ended up with a strange consistency. So this time, I only halved some cherry tomatoes and they became soft very quickly. You don’t need to use cherry tomatoes, it’s just what I had. I liked this sauce better. Like the other sauce recipe, you can add 1/4 C red wine and let the sauce cook a little longer.

6 C tomatoes, chopped roughly

8 cloves garlic, chopped roughly

2 T olive oil

1 T salt (or to taste)

2 or 3 t sugar (if your tomatoes are sweet, don’t bother)

1 T rosemary, dried (or any other Italian spice) OR 1/4 C fresh herbs

1/4 C red wine (optional)

  1. Saute the garlic in olive oil in a saucepan over low heat.
  2. Add tomatoes and stir constantly until some liquid is released from the tomatoes.
  3. Add salt, sugar and wine (if using), and spices. Simmer until sauce has reached the desired thickness. Stir occasionally and crush the tomatoes with your spoon as they cook.
3 responses to “Tomato Pasta Sauce (the better one)

  1. mmmm… our tomato plants have little tomatoes on them! I can’t wait to make some sauce! I never add rosemary, I should try that sometime. I have one pot I keep on meaning to buy another herb for, I think I will get rosemary tomorrow at the farmer’s market!

  2. Hey Sarah I made mine using this recipe and a mix of fresh tomatoes and canned. It was pretty good, but the canned tomatoes didn’t break up like the rest.

  3. I’m glad it worked for you. That’s a good idea about combining the canned and fresh tomatoes. Were they whole canned tomatoes? Maybe you could chop them up a little first next time.

Leave a Reply

