Homemade Peanut Butter

Peanut butter here is expensive, but peanuts are not, so I learned how to make peanut butter from some friends. I eat a lot of peanut butter and I actually prefer this to store bought peanut butter. You could use dry roasted peanuts without the red skins and skip the first two steps, but you might like the taste of freshly roasted peanuts better.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 C peanuts (unroasted with red skins still on)

3 T oil

1 t salt

  1. Roast the peanuts: Put the peanuts in a skillet over medium heat. Cook them for 10-15 while stirring often. They are done when the skins are darker. You can also taste a peanut – it it’s soft and bland, it’s not done yet.
  2. Rub the peanuts between your hands to get the skins off. This is the hardest part of making peanut butter, it just takes a long time. Take the peanuts outside on a big tray or bowl and blow the skins away from the peanuts. (Lao women are good at this and can do it by shaking and tossing the peanuts instead of blowing, but I end up dropping lots of peanuts!)
  3. Put the peanuts (in batches) into a food processor and grind them to a fine paste.
  4. In a bowl, mix together the peanuts, oil, and salt. I think this amount of oil makes the peanut butter a nice texture and spreadable, but you can adjust it.
4 responses to “Homemade Peanut Butter

  1. that looks soooooo good. I love reading your website. i wish i had known you were the cook in TO!! 🙂 YUM!

  2. Thanks Sonya! I love reading your website too – especially about the bubble teas recently. Do you remember when we got bubble tea in Toronto?

  3. Yeah! I remember that! I’m on a hunt to try it all!! 🙂 I tried your curry recipe and it’s really good!

  4. Your Black Bean soup gets an A+++. It is Bob’s favorite. I make a double batch when I’m in the process. Doris

Leave a Reply

