Tomato Pasta Sauce

img_0872.jpg

I think in many places it’s actually cheaper to buy pre-made sauce than to buy the tomatoes to make it yourself. Why is that? Anyway, homemade sauce is worth the effort. This is what I’ve come up with, but it’s sort of a work in progress.

1 T olive oil

4 cloves garlic, chopped

1 1/2 lbs roma tomatoes, chopped in half

2 t salt (or to taste)

1 T italian mixed herbs (fresh ones if you have them)

Roughly chop the garlic and saute with olive oil in a medium sized saucepan. Puree the tomatoes in a blender. Add tomato puree, salt, and herbs to the saucepan and simmer until thick enough for you (at least 45 minutes). 1/4 C red wine tastes really good in this, but then you have to wait a little longer for the liquid to cook off.

I often have a problem with my sauce separating into liquid and solid parts. Anyone know why? How could I fix that?

serves 4

2 responses to “Tomato Pasta Sauce

  1. I don’t puree my tomatoes when I make sauce, I usually chop a few up and them smash the rest of them with a fork or with the wooden spoon while they are on the stovetop. I will sometimes squeeze some of the seeds out into the compost bucket, and if I am feeling brave, drop the tomato in hot water, then remove it and peel the skin. Just fun things I like to try! The only thing I have learned for sure not to do when making sauce of the older tomatoes I had in the garden was that yellow and green tomato sauce is really brown sauce and nasty looking!

  2. Thanks Meghan! Yeah, I thought maybe the blender was the problem. Good ideas.

Leave a Reply

