Yellow Split Pea Soup

img_0717.jpg

I found this recipe on a package of yellow split peas when I was in college. My friend liked it so much that he dug the wrapper out of the trash to find the recipe after I had accidentally thrown it away! I’ve altered it some since then. I actually didn’t use yellow split peas this time, but I think chana dahl is either the same thing or close enough.

Combine in a large saucepan and simmer 45-60 minutes:

1 lb yellow split peas or chana dahl (soaked at least 6 hours)

4 C broth

1 onion, chopped

1 T oil

1/2 t thyme

1/2 t black pepper

1/2 t salt

1/4 t cayenne

1/4 t nutmeg

Stir in before serving:

1 C grated carrots

5 green onions, chopped

You can add extra water at the end if you prefer a thinner soup.

Serves 6

Leave a Reply

