Tortillas

img_0710.jpg

I used to live in New Mexico and there was a restaurant a block from my house that sold fresh tortillas. Every time I went, they gave me the freshest warm tortillas they had (Salsa’s, Gallup, NM). I’ve really missed that living here. In fact, I miss Mexican food in general. Pre-made salsa and refried beans don’t exist here and avocados are rare, so I’m learning how to do Mexican food more from scratch. The original recipe calls for shortening, but I use oil because that’s what I have.

Combine in mixing bowl:

2 C flour
1 t salt
1/4 C oil


add gradually:

1/2 C lukewarm water


1. Stir and then form into a ball and knead on lightly floured board until smooth.

2. Divide dough into 6-8 balls depending on the size of tortilla you want. Roll as thinly as possible (hard to get into circles, but that’s okay).

3. Drop onto a very hot ungreased pan and cook until freckled on one side (about 30 seconds). Flip and cook on the other side.

A properly cooked flour tortilla remains mostly white, but is flecked with brown and puffed in spots; it has a dry look but is still soft and pliable.

from the More-With-Less Cookbook

One response to “Tortillas

  1. looks yummy! i’ve been meaning to make some homemade tortillas ever since i got back from my trip to honduras a year ago…i’ll have to try them out soon. 🙂 this is a fun blog – i like it! love, grace

Leave a Reply

