Horchata – Mexican Rice and Almond Drink

Mexico has a great tradition of sweet refreshing drinks. My favorites are horchata, tamarindo, and jamaica “ha-mike-ah”. This was my first time making horchata and it turned out well. I’ll probably do it again, but I might cut back on the almonds because they’re hard to get and this recipe takes a lot of them. I also really didn’t enjoy blanching and peeling almonds by hand. Definitely buy blanched almonds if you have the option.

There’s a wide variety of horchata recipes, but you can find the one I used at the Homesick Texan blog. I liked this recipe because it doesn’t use powdered cinnamon or milk. Powdered cinnamon tends to float on top of liquids and adding milk to horchata just doesn’t seem authentic.

3 responses to “Horchata – Mexican Rice and Almond Drink

  1. i have been wanting to mae my own horchata instead of buying it! thanks for the recipe. the one i found had no almonds in it.

  2. Wow that looks like a delicious drink! It sounds very interesting :)

  3. Fantastic!! Wow Sarah! That’s exciting! I’m going to have to try this – although – blanching almonds – really? Did you have Say help? Well – it looks very yummy! Can’t wait to try!

    PS: When are you coming to get your pumpkin??? Went by the cafe today – he was running a bit low. :O) Cracks me up – you must be so busy!

    ~Tiffany

Leave a Reply

